Is Confronting Climate Change Necessary?

Is confronting climate change necessary? Francisco Seijo seems to think so. Francisco Seijo is a professor of political science and a well-known researcher when it comes to climate change and environmental politics. In his essay, “When Worlds Collide”, Seijo focuses on “the current status and potential impact of anthropogenic climate change” and considers the types of changes in “political, social, and technological and if it is “necessary to confront climate change”. To be completely honest, this was not one of my favorite readings so far. I just have no similar thoughts to Francisco Seijo and his views on climate change, and frankly I just do not care at all. Francisco Seijo goes on in his article to examine the “implications of the geologic events for the future of life on earth” because they are seemingly unclear. Many people think climate change or global warming actually have an effect on us, but in my personal opinion I think it is all completely false. I don’t believe in global warming or climate change effecting the way we live or our future. I think we will over populate before the climate kills us. Seijo is pretty much saying he believes that we need to start taking care of our world and what we put in it, or else there will be major consequences. Although I disagree with him on practically everything in this article, I do agree that we do need to start cleaning up our earth. This is our home, and our only home so far, so we need to take care of it and stop treating it like trash. We could actually help our environment and the things we put in the atmosphere like toxic gases, or fumes, but I don’t think it really holds a threat on our lives. Finally, Seijo points out ways people are coming up with ways to detect and help the issues in our environment. Good for them, but for now I am going to stick to believing there is not that much to fix.

Leave a comment